We use cookies to ensure we give you the best experience of our website. By accepting, you agree to the use of cookies as described in our privacy policy.

Leading New Zealand’s largest tertiary education institution

Te Pūkenga is governed by a Council and its 16 subsidiary organisations are governed by Boards of Directors.

Council meeting dates 2020

Our Council meets every month. Members of the public are welcome to attend Council meetings. If you would like to attend, please email the Council Secretariat for login details.

The following dates have been set down for the 2020 meetings.  The time and venue will be updated at least two weeks prior to each meeting.

Wednesday 1 April  9:30am  Zoom Download minutes
Thursday 9 April 9:00am  Zoom Download minutes
Tuesday 5 May 9:00am  Zoom Download minutes
Tuesday 2 June 9:00am  Zoom Download minutes
Tuesday 7 July 9:00am  Hamilton Download minutes
Tuesday 4 August 8:30am  Auckland Download minutes
Tuesday 1 September 9:00am Christchurch Download minutes
Tuesday 6 October 9:00am Wellington Download draft agenda and associated papers
Tuesday 3 November 9:00am  Hamilton
Tuesday 1 December

Council Committees 

Capital Asset Management and Infrastructure Committee - Terms of Reference [PDF]

Committee 2020 meeting dates
Tuesday 18 August 11:30am  Zoom Download draft agenda and associated papers

Te Pūkenga Council with Chief Executive Officer

NZIST Council with Chief Executive Officer

Our Council

Te Pūkenga Council is accountable to the Minister of Education.
Its members are appointed in accordance with the Education Act.

Murray Strong image

Murray Strong

Murray Strong is an independent director and Chair, and a member of the Institute of Directors in New Zealand.

Mr Strong has governance and senior management experience across many sectors including tertiary education.

He was the IST Establishment Unit Executive Director, where he was closely involved with all workstreams, key stakeholders and the future direction.

He is chair of the Centre of Digital Excellence in Dunedin.

Tania Hodges image

Tania Hodges

Tania Hodges JP (Ngāti Pāhauwera, Ngāti Ranginui, Ngāti Hauā, Tuwharetoa, Maniapoto, Kahungunu) is Managing Director of Digital Indigenous.Com Ltd, providing advice on governance and leadership, strategic development, change management, Māori and Iwi relationships, and community development.

Ms Hodges has an MBA and qualifications in social science, business research and Te Reo Māori to complement her Registered Psychiatric Nursing qualification.

Maryann Geddes image

Maryann Geddes

Maryann Geddes is the Group Manager Risk & Compliance at Skyline Enterprises, based in Queenstown. She has worked for Skyline since 1994 and is a board member of ServiceIQ.

Other governance roles have included RNZRSA, the Tourism Industry Association, the Otago Southland Employers Association, the Aviation, Tourism and Travel Training Organisation and the Hospitality Standards Institute.

Kathy Grant image

Kathy Grant

Kathy Grant is a former Associate in the Dunedin legal practice of Gallaway Cook Allan.

Mrs Grant has been a Ministerial appointee and Chair of the Otago Polytechnic Council since 2010. She was previously a member of the University of Otago Council and council Chair of the Dunedin College of Education.

In 2015, the Minister of Health appointed Mrs Grant as Commissioner of Southern District Health Board following the disestablishment of the DHB.

Kim Ngarimu image

Kim Ngārimu
Deputy Chair

Kim Ngārimu (Te Aitanga ā Mate, Ngāti Porou) is a director of Tāua Limited, a consultancy specialising in public policy and management advice.

Earlier in her career, Ms Ngārimu held a range of senior public sector roles in Wellington.

She is a member of the Medical Council of New Zealand and the Waitangi Tribunal, Chair of Tairāwhiti District Health Board, and a council-appointed member of the Eastern Institute of Technology. She was Deputy Chair of the IST Establishment Board.

Sam Huggard image

Sam Huggard

Sam Huggard is the former National Secretary of the New Zealand Council of Trade Unions 2014–2019, where he led the union movements work on just transitions. He is now a Strategic Researcher with E tū, which represents >50,000 workers.

Mr Huggard is an experienced not-for-profit sector leader, with 20 years’ service across trade unions, the community sector and students’ associations. His governance experience includes government, not-for-profit, academic and industry advisory bodies.

Peter Winder image

Peter Winder

Peter Winder is a Director of of McGredy Winder & Co.

He has been a Ministerial appointee and Chair of Manukau Institute of Technology since 2013 and is a Member of the Advisory Committee to the Commissioner at Unitec.

Mr Winder was Chief Executive of Auckland Regional Council (2005–2010) and of Local Government New Zealand (2001–2003).

He was Crown Manager of the Kaipara District Council and is a member of the State Services Commission Risk and Audit Committee.

John Brockies image

John Brockies

John Brockies is an experienced independent director with a professional background in executive roles in large New Zealand companies such as Siemens and Transfield. His governance experience includes Naylor Love, the Waiāri Project Advisory Board for Tauranga City Council, the Resolve Group Ltd, and BRANZ.

Mr Brockies was a Ministerial appointee to the Commissioner's Advisory Panel for Unitec and was an independent member of the RoVE Programme Board.

Poari Akoranga

Poari Akoranga provides strategic academic direction and leadership, and a national infrastructure to ensure quality, compliance and consistency of teaching and learning.

Poari Akoranga strives to reflect the principles of Ōritetanga (tertiary success for everyone), innovation, harmonisation and collaboration across Te Pūkenga's academic network. 

The following dates have been set down for the 2020 meetings of Poari Akoranga:

Wednesday 6 May 1:30pm    Zoom Download minutes
Wednesday 10 June 10:00am  Zoom Download minutes
Wednesday 8 July 10:00am  Zoom Download minutes
Wednesday 12 August 10:00am  Zoom Download minutes
Wednesday 9 September 10:00am  Zoom Download minutes
Wednesday 14 October 9:00am   Wintec Download draft agenda and associated papers
Wednesday 11 November
Wednesday 9 December

The members of Poari Akoranga are:

Glynnis Brook (Ara)
Neil Carroll (Open Polytechnic)
Greg Durkin (BCITO)
Lorna Gillespie (Skills Active ITO)
Jeanette Grace (Whitireia New Zealand)
Kieran Hewitson (Toi Ohomai)
Nita Hutchinson (WITT)
Oonagh McGirr (Otago Polytechnic)
Sue Smart (NMIT)
Luana Te Hira (MIT)
Natalie Waran (EIT)
Deborah Young (Ara)

Te Pūkenga Subsidiary Institutes of Technology and Polytechnics

Te Pūkenga has 16 subsidiary organisations which provide vocational education and training throughout New Zealand. The subsidiaries are governed by Boards of Directors appointed by Te Pūkenga's Council.

Together with Te Pūkenga, they must give effect to our Charter set out in the Education Act.

Stay in touch

For personalised news and updates from Te Pūkenga.

Please complete all of the fields below.

Please enter a valid email address.

Please enter a first name.

Please enter a last name.

Please select a country.

Please select a valid date (MM/YYYY).

You can unsubscribe at any time By submitting this form I agree to Te Pūkenga – New Zealand Institute of Skills and Technology Privacy Policy, and to receive updates and marketing communications about their services, promotions, special offers, new and events.

Thanks for subscribing