We use cookies to ensure we give you the best experience of our website. By accepting, you agree to the use of cookies as described in our privacy policy.

Man and woman working in bakery kitchen

Additional Directors named for NZIST Subsidiary ITP Boards

To further drive the shift from competition to operating as one regionally accessible network of provision, the Establishment Board announced on 17 March that one NZIST Council member would be a director on each subsidiary ITP board, and that boards may also receive a ‘cross-Board appointee’.

Accordingly, the Establishment Board is pleased to announce that the following people have agreed to serve on the boards of subsidiary Institutes of Technology and Polytechnics (ITPs), effective from 1 April 2020.

Ara Institute of Canterbury (Ara)

Maryann Geddes (NZIST Council)

Murray Bain (NorthTec Board)

Eastern Institute of Technology (EIT)

Kim Ngārimu (NZIST Council)

Tracy Johnston (NMIT Board)

Nelson Marlborough Institute of Technology (NMIT)

Kathy Grant (NZIST Council)

Northland Polytechnic (NorthTec)

Kim Ngārimu (NZIST Council)

Open Polytechnic

Murray Strong (NZIST Council)

Otago Polytechnic

Maryann Geddes (NZIST Council)

Justin Lester (WelTec & Whitireia Board)

Southern Institute of Technology

Maryann Geddes (NZIST Council)

Murray Bain (NorthTec Board)

Tai Poutini Polytechnic

Sam Huggard (NZIST Council)

Murray Strong (NZIST Council)

Toi Ohomai Institute of Technology

Tania Hodges (NZIST Council)

Niwa Nuri (Wintec Board)

Universal College of Learning (UCOL)

Barry Jordan (SIT Board and NZIST Council appointee)

Lyal French-Wright (WITT Board)

Wellington Institute of Technology and Whitireia Community College (WelTec and Whitireia)

Kathy Grant (NZIST Council)

Waikato Institute of Technology (Wintec)

Tania Hodges (NZIST Council)

Western Institute of Technology Taranaki (WITT)

Sam Huggard (NZIST Council)

Lyal French-Wright (UCOL Board)

“The appointment of Directors across Boards signifies a large change in the way our vocational education providers have been governed, as we move from a competitive to a collaborative model of vocational learning delivery,” says Establishment Board Chair Barry Jordan.

“To draw on the strong talent, knowledge, and expertise that exists across the network and facilitate information sharing, we have selected a number of Directors to sit on more than one Board. NZIST Council members have also been appointed to Boards to ensure they retain both a national and regional view of vocational education and training provision.”

The Education (Vocational Education and Training Reform) Amendment Act requires that the initial board for each subsidiary ITP comprise at least four and no more than eight directors, of which at least half must reside within the region that the subsidiary primarily serves.

All appointments to subsidiary boards are subject to ratification and approval by the NZIST Council on 1 April 2020. Members of this Council were confirmed by the Minister of Education on 18 March.

This page was last updated 2 July 2020

Keep in touch. Don't miss out on the latest news.

Subscribe to News

Stay in touch

For personalised news and updates from Te Pūkenga.

Please complete all of the fields below.

Please enter a valid email address.

Please enter a first name.

Please enter a last name.

Please select a country.

Please select a valid date (MM/YYYY).

You can unsubscribe at any time By submitting this form I agree to Te Pūkenga – New Zealand Institute of Skills and Technology Privacy Policy, and to receive updates and marketing communications about their services, promotions, special offers, new and events.

Thanks for subscribing